• Follow Us
  • Peace Office Director elected as President for 2010-2011

    An official of the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP) will take the helm of the AusAID-assisted Philippine Australian Alumni Association (PA3i) after being elected president by its Board of Trustees on July 24, 2010 in Pasig City.

    Carmel Pami-Ulanday, Director of OPAPP Official Development Assistance Support Unit, was elected as PA3i 9th president  by her fellow trustees at the Board Meeting held at the Philippines Australia Human Resource Development Facility (PAHRDF) office in Pasig City. She succeeded outgoing president Vivian B. Valdez, Senior Research and Development Specialist at the Philippine Council for Agriculture Forestry and Natural Resources Research and Development of the Department of Science and Technology (PCARRD-DOST).

    Ulanday now leads the fifteen-member Board of Trustees which has recently gotten four newly-elected members including, among others, Tourism Undersecretary Simeon Marfori II. Ulanday completed a Masters of Public Policy degree at the University of Sydney in 2008 and joined PA3i in 2009 year as trustee-secretary. She was a recipient of an Australian Development Scholarship (ADS).

    During her one-year term which coincides with the Australian fiscal calendar 2010-2011, Ulanday said she not only intended to continue building on the gains of the preceding leadership in terms of strengthening the organization, facilitating social development projects, but will also seek to raise the profile of the association in the international alumni network.

    ‘Our newly-installed national government presents various opportunities for collaboration among institutions and various agencies’, Ulanday said. ‘PA3i will try to maximize these opportunities by aligning our programs and activities with the vision of the national government and the Australian government as well.’

    Ulanday also studied BA in Political Science and Masters in Educational Psychology at the University of the Philippines Diliman.

    Other elected/reelected officers for FY 2010-2011 were Alvaro Calara of the De La Salle University (University of Newcastle, 2000) as Vice President; Darwin Manubag of the Iligan Institute of Technology (University of Melbourne, 2005) as Secretary; Johny V. Ramos of the Department of Agriculture (University of Queensland, 2006) as Treasurer; Jonathan T. Callanta of the Misamis Occidental Provincial Government (Curtin University of Technology, 2008) as Auditor, and independent communications consultant Arvin Yana (University of Newcastle, 1999) as Public Relations Officer.

    Aside from Undersecretary Marfori, other newly-elected trustees were Population Commission CAR Regional Director Ma. Aurora C. Quiray, Larry Pamugas of the Provincial Government of Bohol, and Alice Robles of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR)-Land Management Bureau.


    Skip to toolbar