• Follow Us
  • Communications specialist elected National President for 2011-2012

    Arvin YanaMr Arvin Yana, PA3i’s longest-serving public relations officer for four years, has been elected the association’s new national president following the first regular board meeting of the Board of Trustees on 27 August 2011 at the Benguet State University in La Trinidad, Benguet.

    Hosted by the PA3i Baguio Chapter, the board meeting and elections were PA3i’s first major event after the national convention and annual general assembly in Davao City on 7-9 July 2011 that elected new trustees of the 15-member Board.

    Mr Yana, from the NCR Chapter, is a communication specialist who works as web and knowledge management consultant at the Asian Development Bank (ADB). He graduated with Bachelor of Communication from the University of Newcastle (Callaghan) in 1999 where he was the founding president of the Filipino student association, and a valedictory speaker of its foreign students graduation ceremony. He was also one of the voices on the airwaves of the Hunter Valley region having worked as radio host and program producer at Newcastle’s 2NUR-FM. He was a recipient of the Australian Development Cooperation Scholarships (ADCOS).

    Mr Yana was a practicing journalist in the Philippines before moving to study in Newcastle.

    Also elected as national vice-president was Ms Mylah Faye Carino, incoming assistant regional director of NEDA-Caraga region who graduated with MA in Demography from the Australian National University. Ms Carino is the chapter president of the Northern Mindanao/Cagayan de Oro chapter.

    Mr Johnny Ramos, a project development specialist at the Department of Agriculture – Philippine Agricultural Development & Commercial Corporation who did a postgraduate diploma in Rural Systems Management at the University of Queensland, is the new secretary/treasurer.

    Mr. Roy Fiesta, a planning officer from the Cotabato City government who took a course on local government management at the Northern Territory University is the new auditor while elected as PRO was Baguio Chapter president Ms Ma. Aurora Quiray, the current regional director of the Commission on Population-Cordillera region who did a course on women at the International Retreat Center in Baxter, Victoria.

    PA3i is nationally managed by a 15-member board of trustees led by a national president and is made up of 12 regional chapters across the country.

    In Mr Yana’s team are ten more trustees: Admiral Danilo Abinoja (NCR), Former Commandant, Philippine Coast Guard, Royal Australian Navy alumnus; Ms Anna Alagar (Iligan Chapter), Human Resource Management Officer, Iligan City Government, Philippines Australia Human Resource Development Facility (PAHRODF) alumnae; Ms Lorylie Crisostomo (Cebu), Professor, University of San Carlos Cebu, Australian National University alumnae; Ms Lizabel Holganza (Davao), CEO, ZipIT Solutions Inc & Nanoscript Inc, and President, ICT Davao, PAHRODF alumnae; Atty Auralyn Pascual (NCR Chapter), Chief of Project Management Office, National Bureau of Investigation (NBI), University of Wollongong alumnae; Mr Simeon Marfori II (Davao Chapter), President and CEO, HMM Holdings, Former Undersecretary, Department of Tourism, and Former President, Davao City Chamber of Commerce & Industry, PAHRODF alumnus; Mr Larry Pamugas (Bohol Chapter), Provincial Agriculturist, Bohol Provincial Government, University of Adelaide alumnus; Ms Carmel Pami-Ulanday (NCR Chapter), Consultant and Former Director, Office of Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP), University of Sydney alumnae, Ms Leticia Tan (Caraga), Regional Director, Department of Tourism XIII, Northern Territory University alumnae, and Atty Teresita Tuazon (NCR), Deputy Clerk of Court of the Supreme Court and a University of Sydney alumnae.

    Skip to toolbar